Can I delete my photos after backing up to Amazon photos?
Yes, you can delete your photos from Amazon Photos. To do so, tap the three dots icon and then select “Move to Trash.” You can choose to remove the photo from your Amazon Photos account only, or from your device only.
Why is this the case? Once you backup a photo to Amazon Photos, it is stored on their servers. This means that you can still access and view the photo at any time. However, if you delete it from your device, it will no longer be taking up space on your device’s storage.
For example, let’s say you have a photo that is 1GB in size. You backup this photo to Amazon Photos and then later decide that you want to delete it from your phone. By doing so, you are freeing up 1GB of space on your phone without losing access to the photo (since it is still stored on Amazon’s servers).
Some people may prefer not to delete their photos off their devices even after they have been backed up because they like having a physical copy of their photos (i.e., on their phones). Others may not care about saving storage space on their devices and simply keep all of their photos both locally (on their devices) as well as backed-up online/in the cloud.
Ultimately, whether or not you decide to delete your photos after backing them up onto Amazon Photos is entirely up to you!
How to upload photos to Amazon Photos from iPhone/Mac?
If you’re looking to transfer photos and videos from your iPhone to Amazon Photos, there are a few easy ways to do so. Amazon Photos will automatically upload your content from iCloud when you download the app to your iOS device. Alternatively, you can manual transfer photos and videos by downloading the Amazon Photos desktop app on your computer.
This is convenient if you’re wanting to switch storage service providers and want all of your content in one place. Additionally, this process is relatively simple compared to other methods that might require more steps or apps.
Once you have the app downloaded, follow these instructions:
1. From the “Backup” tab, select “Add backup”
2. Select the folder that includes the photos you’ve downloaded from online storage
3. Set preferences for backup (recurrence,photos,videos)
What happens to my photos if I leave Amazon Prime?
If you cancel your Amazon Prime membership, you’ll still have access to 5GB of photo storage. However, if your photos exceed this storage quota, you won’t be able to upload, sync, or share files. After 180 days in an over-quota status, files are deleted (starting with the most recent uploads being deleted first) until your account is no longer over quota. Account holders are notified prior to file deletion.
The reason for this is that Amazon wants to encourage people to keep their Prime memberships active. If they allowed people to continue using the photo storage indefinitely after cancelling their memberships, then there would be little incentive for people to remain Prime members. By putting a limit on the amount of time you can use the service after cancelling, Amazon ensures that people will think twice before cancellation and possibly decide to keep their membership active.
There are some alternative opinions on this policy. Some people feel that it is unfair to those who have been loyal customers and have built up a large collection of photos over the years only to have them taken away if they cancel their membership. Others argue that it is a reasonable way for Amazon to protect its interests and ensure that people remain paying customers.
Personally, I think that this policy makes sense from Amazon’s perspective but it isn’t necessarily fair to all customers. I can understand why someone who has amassed a large collection of photos might be upset at having them taken away after cancelling their subscription. On the other hand, I think it’s important for companies like Amazon to make sure they’re getting value for the services they provide and not just losing money by giving away unlimited storage space forever without any compensation.