Why is restoring my iPhone taking so long?

Why is restoring my iPhone taking so long? 

This can often happen when you have lots of data on your backup from your old phone. Sometimes the restoring process might even seem fairly short at first (maybe only a few hours), then it will steadily increase while it’s restoring, instead of decreasing like it should!

How do I know if my iPhone is restoring? 

To check this, tap Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup. If your device is still being restored, you see “This [device] is currently being restored and will automatically back up when it is done.”

How long does restore from iCloud take? 

iCloud data can be restored relatively quickly, depending on the amount of data that needs to be restored and the speed of your internet connection. Typically, most users report that their data is restored within 24 hours.

Why is it taking so long for my new iPhone to restore from iCloud? 

Question: Q: iCloud restore taking very long

Answer: A: That is not normal at all. It can take a few hours if it is your very first backup, you haven’t backed up in months, or you have an extraordinarily large amount of content to backup.

Why is restoring my iPhone taking so long? – Related Questions

How do I check iCloud recovery status?

Check the status of your request

Just go to iforgot.apple.com and enter your Apple ID.

What does restore from iCloud mean?

“Restore iPhone from iTunes or iCloud backup” means to restore the contents of an iPhone backup in the past to your iPhone. The backup content will replace all the current data.

Does restore delete everything on iPhone?

If you choose to restore your iPhone from backup, either from iCloud or iTunes, it won’t delete everything. But those files since the last backup that was created will be erased.

Does iPhone restore delete photos?

If you are going to restore your iPhone to factory settings, all personal settings, including photos, videos, messages, documents will be erased from the internal storage of the iPhone, and change settings to the very beginning just like a brand new iPhone.

Does an iCloud backup save everything?

Your iCloud Backup includes information about the content you buy, but not the content itself. When you restore from an iCloud backup, your purchased content is automatically redownloaded from the iTunes Store, App Store, or Books Store. Some types of content aren’t downloaded automatically in all countries or regions.

Does iCloud save text messages?

Apple’s Messages in iCloud service can be used to backup all your text messages to the cloud so that you can download them to your new iPhone – and keep them in sync across all your Apple devices, so that every message and reply can be viewed on every device.

Do deleted messages go to iCloud?

You can still access your most recent messages, but they won’t be stored in iCloud and deleted messages will not update on all of your devices. To keep using Messages in iCloud, upgrade your storage or free up space by deleting files that you don’t need.

Does an iCloud backup save photos?

iCloud allows you to backup photos, videos, purchase history for music, movies, TV shows, apps, books, ringtones, device settings and much more. If you want to backup photos and videos to iCloud on your iOS device, then you just need to turn ON iCloud Photo Library.

What is stored in iCloud?

iCloud.com gives you online access to iCloud services. Each iCloud account gets 5GB of storage, and according to Apple, that specifically means data from mail, documents, photos and videos stored in Photos library, as well as iOS device backups.

How do you tell if all photos are backed up on iCloud?

Make sure Wi-Fi is connected and click the “Backup Now” button. To check whether you backed up your photos, go to Settings > Apple ID banner> iCloud. Scroll down and tap “iCloud Backup” to view the latest backup.

Will I lose photos if I turn off iCloud?

If you only turn off iCloud on your iPhone, all of your photos will be removed. You may also log into your account from any other device or via iCloud to view them. However, a new photograph will no longer be saved to iCloud.

What happens if I click disable and delete iCloud photos?

Turning on “disable and delete” will give you 30 days to download your photos from iCloud before they’re permanently deleted.